Blackman High School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Sign Language Club

No experience necessary! See Mrs. Holl in C-12 or Ms. Davis in G-6 for more information! 
 
Join Remind by texting @42dd7f to 81010
 
Sponsors:
Sienna Holl
Morgan Davis
Thursday, February 15
Review and continue learning "A Thousand Years" by Christina Perri
 
Thursday, February 1
Review and continue learning "A Thousand Years" by Christina Perri
 
Thursday, January 25
  • Fingerspelling quiz on Lifeprint.com
    • 100% correct answers!
  • Start learning "A Thousand Years" by Christina Perri
    • Video
    • Lyrics (see side bar)
 
 
Thursday, January 11
Thursday, December 14
  • Christmas Party!!!
 
Thursday, November 30/ December 7?
  • Finish Believe"
 
Thursday, November 16
  • reminder: go see Mrs. Holl if you have t-shirt/hoodie money!
  • review what we have learned so far of "Believe" (Lyrics in the side bar to the right)
  • HW: practice at home!
 
Thursday, November 9
  • t-shirt orders - PLEASE get in your money!!!
  • begin learning "Believe" by Josh Groban
 
Thursday, November 1
  • t-shirt orders
  • review Fight Song and True Colors
  • vote on a Christmas sing to learn
    • winning song is "Believe" by Josh Groban
 
Thursday, September 21
  • Upcoming Events
    • Hosting Rossview Sign Club in October!
    • Trunk-or-Treat
      • Enchanted Forest theme - be brainstorming!
  • Mrs. Holl shared her silent dinner experience!
    • Signs Learned
      • Hurricane
      • Tornado
    • Knowing how to read fingerspelling (quickly) is SO important!!!!!!
      • Practiced fingerspelling
 
Thursday, September 14
  • Early dismissal - We did not meet!
 
Thursday, September 7
  • Collect Dues
  • Split into groups to learn songs 
    • Ms. Davis's group learned 30 seconds of Fight Song
    • Mrs. Holl's group learned about 1:30 of True Colors
 
Thursday, August 31
Met for 15 minutes to discuss dues and plans for next week.
 
Thursday, August 24
  • Review last week's signs
  • Join remind (@42dd7f)
  • Discuss Rossville High School Sign Club meetings
    • meet and greet at BHS in October
    • Sign-off at RHS in the spring
  • Signs learned
    • Toilet/restroom
    • Good morning
    • Good afternoon
    • Good night
    • who, what, when, where, why, and how
    • "how do you sign...?" (fingerspell what you want to know how to sign)
  • Decide on song to learn to sign
 
Thursday, August 17
  • Introductions
  • Officers
  • Memrise
  • Signs Learned
    • ASL Alphabet (our names)
    • "My name is"
    • "Nice to meet you"
    • "Next Thursday"